Death of Honour Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Pallies what are they good for (and abit about tanking)...

4 posters

Go down

Pallies what are they good for (and abit about tanking)... Empty Pallies what are they good for (and abit about tanking)...

Post  Adrianus Wed Dec 31, 2008 8:50 am

heya there happy to write the first post in this thread
well as you know im the only pally tank in the guild Smile
the progression of my char and py style was abit wierd as i started playing wow abit late after tbc came out
and this is my first character so till level 60 ive done some wierd talent mix of holy and retribution wasnt really effective but ive played retribution till 70 and my insight about retribution paladins are that they are pretty decent about dps and excelet at burst damage wich is exelent in pvp = seal of command +crusaderstrike + judgement top that with abit of holy wrath mabey stun the target before for the extra damage and u accumulate to afew thausand damage in a very short period (at least that is what i did...).
i only played as a holy paladin for a short period of time of a few days so i dont have much experience with that .

well the main topic of this message is about being a prot paladin
for level 80 heroics u basically need 20k hp and 20k armor unbuffed and 335 def \ 340 for raids to be crit immune
notice that 102.4 avoidance is no longer needed in wotlk
just to explain how pally tanks work....
1. paladin tanks depend on mana for threat generation = no mana no threat = wipe
2. paladins get mana from spiritual attunment from heals.
3.paladin main threat generation comes from hammer of righteos (hits 3 targets at the same time ) ,
righteous shield (hits one target generating alot of threat) , concecration (now less dependant than in tbc)
and of course holy shield (increases block by 30% and does holy damage) that contribues to the
survival of the tank and for threat .